The Board

The Board consists of a Non-Executive Chairman, two Executive Directors and five other Non-Executive Directors. 

Non-Executive Chairman


Richard Gillingwater

Chairman since May 2013 and Non-Executive Director since February 2013. Chairman of the Nomination Committee.


Mr Gillingwater is the Non-Executive Chairman of CDC Group plc, Senior Independent Director of Hiscox Ltd, Helical Bar plc and SSE plc. He was, until recently, Dean of Cass Business School. Prior to this he spent 10 years at Kleinwort Benson, before moving to BZW, and, in due course, becoming joint Head of Corporate Finance and then latterly Chairman of European Investment Banking at Credit Suisse First Boston. He was Chief Executive and later Chairman of the Shareholder Executive and has also been a Non-Executive Director of P&O, Debenhams, Tomkins, Qinetiq Group and Kidde. Mr Gillingwater has been appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Wm Morrison Supermarkets Plc with effect from 1 March 2013.

Executive Directors  


Andrew Formica

BA (Econ), MA (Econ), MBA, FIAA, FIA – Chief Executive. Executive Director since November 2008.


Mr Formica has been in the fund management industry since 1993. He has held various senior roles with the Henderson Group in the past 12 years and he has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2004. Prior to being appointed Chief Executive of the Company, he was Joint Managing Director of the Listed Assets business (from September 2006) and was Head of Equities (since September 2004). In the early part of his career, he was an equity manager and analyst for the Henderson Group.


Roger Thompson

Chief Financial Officer. Executive Director since 26 June 2013.


Mr Thompson joined Henderson Group from J.P. Morgan Asset Management where most recently he was Global Chief Operating Officer and was previously Head of UK and prior to that International CFO. In his 19 year career at J.P. Morgan, Mr Thompson has held a broad range of roles and has worked internationally, spending time in Tokyo, Singapore and Hong Kong. He has wide-ranging asset management experience, both in the UK and internationally.

Non-Executive Directors


Sarah Arkle

Independent Non-Executive Director since September 2012. Chair of the Board Risk Committee and a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees.


Ms Arkle has been in the financial industry for over 30 years. She joined Allied Dunbar Asset Management in 1983 which became Threadneedle in 1994. She was most recently Vice Chairman of Threadneedle until the end of July 2012 and was Chief Investment Officer until December 2010, a role she held for 10 years. She was instrumental in establishing Threadneedle’s investment process and recruiting a number of the firm’s senior fund managers. Previously, Ms Arkle worked at the Far Eastern stockbroker WI Carr (Overseas) Limited. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Foreign & Colonial Investment Trust plc and JPMorgan Emerging Markets Investment Trust plc and has been an advisor to the South Yorkshire Pension Fund.

Kevin Dolan

BS (Business Administration) – Independent Non-Executive Director since September 2011. Member of the Board Risk, Nomination and Remuneration Committees.


Mr Dolan has been in the financial industry for 32 years. Mr Dolan has held various executive positions, including as Chief Executive of the Asset Management Division of Bank of Ireland Group and Chief Executive of Edmond de Rothschild Asset Management. He spent 10 years with the AXA Group where he was Chief Executive Officer of AXA Investment Managers Paris, and Global Deputy Chief Executive Officer of AXA Investment Management. He was Chief Executive of La Fayette Investment Management in London from 2006 until 2009. Mr Dolan has been a Director on a number of boards in Europe and the US, including DLJ and Alliance Capital. Mr Dolan is the founding partner of Anafin LLC, an advisory firm specialising in the investment industry. He was appointed as a Director of Meeschaert Gestion Privee in October 2012

Tim How 

MA (Cantab), MSc – Independent Non-Executive Director since November 2008. Senior Independent Director. Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees.


Mr How has extensive business experience. He was Chief Executive of Majestic Wine plc from 1989 until August 2008 and was formerly Managing Director of Bejam Group plc. He was also a Non-Executive Director of Framlington AIM VCT 2 plc. Mr How is the Senior Independent Director of Dixons Retail plc and the Non-Executive Chairman of Downing Income VCT 4 PLC (formerly Framlington AIM VCT plc). He is also the Chairman of Rayner and Keeler Limited and Woburn Enterprises Limited and the Deputy Chairman of the Peabody Trust. He was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Peabody Capital plc in February 2012.


Robert Jeens

MA (Cantab), FCA – Independent Non-Executive Director since July 2009. Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Nomination and Board Risk Committees.


 Mr Jeens has extensive experience of financial services initially as an audit partner in Touche Ross & Co and subsequently as Finance Director of Kleinwort Benson Group plc and Woolwich plc. His previous Non-Executive appointments include the Chairman of nCipher plc and the Deputy Chairman of Hepworth plc. He was a Non-Executive Director of Dialight plc and resigned as a Non-Executive Director of Gartmore Fledgling Trust plc on 18 April 2011. Mr Jeens was a Non-Executive Director of The Royal London Mutual Insurance Society Limited from 2003 until May 2012. He is currently also a Non-Executive Director of TR European Growth Trust plc, JPMorgan Russian Securities plc and RCM Technology Trust plc.

Angela Seymour-Jackson

Angela Seymour-Jackson

Independent Non-Executive Director since January 2014 and a member of the Board Risk, Nomination, Remuneration Committees.


Ms Seymour-Jackson has had over 20 years’ experience in Retail Financial Services. She has held various senior marketing and distribution roles in Norwich Union Insurance, General Accident Insurance, CGU plc and Aviva. She was CEO of RAC Motoring Services from 2010 until 2012 and led the sale to Carlyle. She joined Aegon UK in May 2012 and was appointed Managing Director of the Workplace Solutions Division in December 2012. Ms Seymour Jackson is also a Non-Executive Director of Rentokil Initial plc.

Share Price

UK: 225p

26/11/2014 17:15 GMT

Australia: $4.11

26/11/2014 16:00 GMT

Copyright © 1997-2012 EuroInvestor and our data suppliers. Data delayed by 15-20 min. See Terms of use



*   Audit Committee member
†  Nomination Committee member
#  Remuneration Committee member
~  Risk Committee member